Nominations for 2014 ISS Annual Awards of Distinction now open

The International Superyacht Society (ISS) has announced that nominations for ...

Nominations for 2014 ISS Annual Awards of Distinction now open

February 04, 2014

Written by Zuzana Bednarova

The International Superyacht Society (ISS) has announced that nominations for its annual Awards of Distinction are now open. Nominations come from international yachting enthusiasts as well as the superyacht industry. While many are familiar with the organization’s design awards that recognize achievement in superyacht engineering and style, ISS equally recognizes personal triumph from crew to the corporate office and for ocean stewardship.


ISS’s 2014 Awards of Distinction will be presented during ISS’s International Awards for Design & Leadership Gala which kicks off the Fort Lauderdale International Boat Show annually.

Complete descriptions of ISS’s Awards of Distinction:

ISS Business (Person) of the Year

The ISS Business (Person) of the Year is awarded to those demonstrating excellence in their area of superyacht expertise within the previous year; nominations come from both the industry and the ISS Board with the Board making finalists selections. Previous honorees have included Michael Moore, Moore & Company; Dean du Toit, National Marine Suppliers; Dick Boon, Vripack; Corporation of Trinity House, Professional Yachtsman Bursary Scheme; Frans Heesen, Heesen Yachts; and, John Dane, Trinity Yachts.

ISS Distinguished Crew Award

Distinguished Crew Award (DCA) nominations are made by the industry; selection is made by a panel of judges. Specifically, the DCA honour is designed to “recognize yacht crew whose distinguished acts of service best exemplify the standards to which professional yacht crew aspire.” Previous recipients have included Heather Havens of M/V The Three Graces; Captain Len Beck of the M/V Battered Bull; Chief Engineer Paul Doherty of the M/V Dilbar; Captain David Hill; Yacht Aid Global; Captain Sandy Yawn; and, Captain Bob Corcoran.

ISS Excellence in Innovation

Open to every aspect of the industry—from crew training to technological advances—the Excellence in Innovation award is given to an individual or business that has demonstrated innovation in their endeavours. Nominations come from the industry and ISS Board Members vote to determine finalists. In 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009 and 2008 respectively, the Excellence in Innovation honoured Damen Shipyards for Fast Yacht Support (FYS) GARÇON; Marcel Onkenhout of Oceanco; Gary Markel of Operation Cruise; Alastair Callender (Soliloquy); Carlisle and Finch; and, Agrimond. The ISS Business (Person) of the Year is open for Silver Sponsorship. ISS is pleased to announce MTN as the sponsor of this award.

ISS Fabien Cousteau Blue Award

The ISS Fabien Cousteau Blue Award celebrates stewardship of marine ecosystems. Environmental leadership, global oceanic conservation and resource preservation are prerequisites for nomination. The integration of environmental technologies and resource management with the goal of setting achievable standards and models for wide adaptation in the design, engineering and building of large yachts—and the use of the Earth’s waterways—are essential criteria. Nominations are made by owners and the yachting industry; selection is by panel of judges, including Mr. Cousteau. Chicago Park District and Westrec Marinas were recipients in 2012; Yacht Carbon Offset was awarded the honour in 2011. Oceanco sponsors this prestigious award.

ISS Leadership Award

The only ISS award nominated “in-house”; the Leadership Award recognizes an individual or business whose distinctive work and commitment to the industry has contributed over a substantial period of time to the sustainable growth of the superyacht community worldwide. Nominations are sought from ISS board members; the judging panel consists of previous recipients of the award. Giancarlo Ragnetti of Perini Navi was the 2013 recipient.

Nominations Process

ISS requests that nominations be made prior to 29 August 2014. The nomination form is available on the International Superyacht Society website. Those nominating are requested to complete and submit the form following instruction provided therein; the form may also be printed and faxed to 954.525.4325. Once received, the nomination will be forwarded to the appropriate committee and ISS Board of Directors.

Questions regarding the nominating process may be directed to Norma Trease, ISS Awards of Distinction Chair: +44 7739 325675 and + 33(0)6 8561 6065,


A 501 (c) 6 non-profit organization, ISS is dedicated to recognizing achievement in the global superyacht community. To do so, the Society relies on the perpetual support of established sponsors and welcomes new sponsors who see ISS involvement as an excellent means of creating visbility in the worldwide marketplace. Those interested in sponsoring the Awards of Distinction or any other ISS initiative are encouraged to contact Amy Halsted, ISS Executive Director, at +1 540.784.4561,

Please contact CharterWorld - the luxury yacht charter specialist - for more on superyacht news item "Nominations for 2014 ISS Annual Awards of Distinction now open".

Quick Enquiry

Share on FacebookShare on Twitter