ISS 2012 Nominations for Annual Awards of Distinction Open

The International Superyacht Society (ISS) officially opened the 2012 ...

ISS 2012 Nominations for Annual Awards of Distinction Open

May 15, 2012

Written by Zuzana Bednarova

The International Superyacht Society (ISS) officially opened the 2012 nominations from the yachting industry and yachting public for its annual Awards of Distinction. In addition to the organization’s well known design awards that celebrate achievement in superyacht engineering as well as style, ISS equally recognizes personal triumph from crew to the corporate office for ocean stewardship.


ISS’s Awards of Distinction are presented during ISS’s International Awards for Design & Leadership Gala held the opening night of the Fort Lauderdale International Boat Show—scheduled this year for 25 October 2012 at the Marriott Harbor Beach Resort.

A 501 (c) 6 non-profit organization, ISS is dedicated to recognizing achievement in the global superyacht industry. To do so, the Society relies on the perpetual support of established sponsors and welcomes new sponsors who see ISS involvement as an excellent means of creating visbility in the worldwide marketplace. ISS welcomes NanoICE as its Excellence in Innovation Award sponsor and Burger Boat Company as the ISS Fabien Cousteau Blue Award sponsor. ISS gratefully acknowledges Robb Report for their continuing commitment to the ISS Leadership Award and Westrec for continuing to support the Distinguished Crew Award.

Complete descriptions of ISS’s Awards of Distinction

ISS Business (Person) of the Year
The ISS Business (Person) of the Year is awarded to those demonstrating excellence in their area of superyacht expertise within the previous year; nominations come from both the industry and the ISS Board with the Board making finalists selections. Previous honorees have included Dick Boon, Vripack; Corporation of Trinity House, Professional Yachtsman Bursary Scheme; Frans Heesen, Heesen Yachts; and, John Dane, Trinity Yachts.

ISS Distinguished Crew Award
Distinguished Crew Award (DCA) nominations are made by the industry; selection is made by a panel of judges. Specifically, the DCA honour is designed to “recognize yacht crew whose distinguished acts of service best exemplify the standards to which professional yacht crew aspire.” Previous recipients have included Chief Engineer Paul Doherty of the M/V Dilbar; Captain David Hill; Yacht Aid Global; Captain Sandy Yawn; and, Captain Bob Corcoran.

ISS Excellence in Innovation
Open to every aspect of the industry—from crew training to technological advances—the Excellence in Innovation award is given to an individual or business that has demonstrated innovation in their endeavours. Nominations come from the industry and ISS Board Members vote to determine finalists. In 2011, 2010, 2009 and 2008 respectively, the Excellence in Innovation honoured Gary Markel of Operation Cruise; Alastair Callender (Soliloquy); Carlisle and Finch; and, Agrimond.

ISS Fabien Cousteau Blue Award
The ISS Fabien Cousteau Blue Award celebrates stewardship of marine ecosystems. Environmental leadership, global oceanic conservation and resource preservation are prerequisites for nomination. The integration of environmental technologies and resource management with the goal of setting achievable standards and models for wide adaptation in the design, engineering and building of large yachts — and the use of the Earth’s waterways—are essential criteria. Nominations are made by owners and the yachting industry; selection is by panel of judges, including Mr. Cousteau. Yacht Carbon Offset was awarded the honour in 2011.

ISS Leadership Award
The only ISS award nominated “in-house”; the Leadership Award recognizes an individual or business whose distinctive work and commitment to the industry has contributed over a substantial period of time to the sustainable growth of the superyacht community worldwide. Nominations are sought from ISS board members; the judging panel consists of previous recipients of the award. Espen Øino of Espen Øino International was the 2011 recipient. The ISS Leadership Award is perennially sponsored by Robb Report.

Nominations Process
ISS requests that nominations be made prior to 31 August 2012. The nomination form is available on the International Superyacht Society website. Those nominating are requested to complete and submit the form following instruction provided therein; the form may also be printed and faxed to 954.525.4325. Once received, the nomination will be forwarded to the appropriate committee and ISS Board of Directors.

Please contact CharterWorld - the luxury yacht charter specialist - for more on superyacht news item "ISS 2012 Nominations for Annual Awards of Distinction Open".

Quick Enquiry

Share on FacebookShare on Twitter