America’s Cup Hall of Fame to induct 6 new nominees.

The America’s Cup Hall of Fame located at the Herreshoff Marine Museum of ...

America’s Cup Hall of Fame to induct 6 new nominees.

May 14, 2010

Written by Chelsea Smith

The America’s Cup Hall of Fame located at the Herreshoff Marine Museum of Bristol, Rhode Island, USA, honors individuals for outstanding achievement in the America’s Cup sailing competition. Nominees eligible for consideration include skippers, crew, designers, builders, organizers, syndicate managers, supporters, chroniclers, race managers, and other individuals of merit. A selection committee of 22 members who bring a wealth of knowledge to the selection process consist of former America’s Cup participants, yachting historians, and yachting journalists who annually select inductees. 

The Herreshoff Marine Museum - America's Cup Hall of Fame

 This year’s candidates have been announced and include the following selection for induction on September 18, 2010.

Simon Daubney,
Warwick Fleury,
Murray Jones,
Dean Phipps,
Mike Drummond,
Halsey Herreshoff. 

The 17th Induction Ceremony will be presented by Rolex Watch USA and hosted at the New York Yacht Club’s Harbour Court in Newport, Rhode Island. The ceremony will be held in conjunction with the America’s Cup 12 Metre Era Reunion weekend.

Ever since Rolex Watch U.S.A. first presented timepieces to America’s Cup defenders in 1958, the company has consistently recognized and encouraged excellence in every important arena of competitive sailing, including elite athlete preparation, US SAILING championships, disabled sailing, and offshore, one-design and women’s events.

The Hall of Fame’s museum, a division of the Herreshoff Marine Museum, features plaques of the inductees and permanent and temporary exhibitions of artifacts related to the America’s Cup. The museum’s library contains one of the largest collections of manuscripts and books related to the America’s Cup and yachting history.

The first induction ceremony took place in 1993 and since then, over 70 legends of the Cup have been selected for membership in the Hall of Fame. The nominees are judged on the basis of outstanding ability, international recognition, character, performance, and contributions to the America’s Cup.

Below is a brief profile on the 6 candidates nominated this year.

Simon Daubney

Simon Daubney (New Zealand)

Simon Daubney has 3 decades of racing experience, beginning in dinghies on his home waters of Auckland before moving into the match racing scene. He is an eight-time world champion, has competed in three Olympic Games in the Soling, and has taken part in seven America’s Cup campaigns.

Warwick Fleury

Warwick Fleury (New Zealand)

Having participated in eight America’s Cup campaigns, 3 with Alinghi and 5 with New Zealand teams, mainsail trimmer Warwick Fleury is also an experienced match racer.  He was a three time world champion with Team Magic, a Bermuda Gold Cup winner six times, and has also won world championships in Farr 40s and the Mumm 36.

Murray Jones (New Zealand)

Murray Jones

Murray Jones is one of the most respected keelboat sailors in the world.  Although well-known for his five America’s Cup campaigns, Jones had a long and illustrious sailing career before his belated move into the America’s Cup arena. He represented New Zealand at three world youth sailing Championships in the mid-1970s, before getting into Olympic campaigning in the 1980s.

Dean Phipps (New Zealand)

Dean Phipps

Beginning with 1983’s Victory ’83 challenge, Phipps has participated in eight Cup campaigns.  He is also a storied offshore racer, with two Whitbreads under his belt, four Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Races, four Rolex Fastnet Races, and two Newport Bermuda Race campaigns.

Mike Drummond (New Zealand)

Mike Drummond

Mike Drummond has over 20 years America’s Cup experience as a design engineer, principal designer and navigator. He has been a part of four America’s Cup winning teams and continues to serve as BMW ORACLE Racing’s Design Director following victory with the American team in the 33rd America’s Cup.

Halsey Herreshoff (United States)

Halsey Herreshoff

Distinguished as the most active America’s Cup sailor during the 12 Metre era, Halsey Herreshoff was a crewman as bowman, crew boss, or navigator in six campaigns and sailed in four America’s Cup matches.  A naval architect and marine engineer, Halsey Herreshoff has also contributed to the support of technology and management of many campaigns.  He is also the founder of the America’s Cup Hall of Fame with the late Edward du Moulin.


Below is a full list of Hall of Fame Honor Roll of Members to date.

Charles Francis Adams
James L. Ashbury
Charles Barr
J. Burr Bartram
Robert N. Bavier, Jr.
John Bertrand
John Biddle
Baron Marcel Bich
Sir Peter Blake
Alan Bond
Dick Brown
Edward Burgess
W. Starling Burgess
Malin Burnham
Bradley W. Butterworth OBE
James E. Buttersworth
William F. Carstens
Dennis Conner
Russell Coutts
Briggs S. Cunningham
Laurie Davidson
Edward I. du Moulin
Sir Michael Fay
William P. Ficker
William Fife III
Henry Coleman Haff
Sir James Hardy
Nathanael G. Herreshoff
F.E. “Ted” Hood
Chandler Hovey
Sherman Hoyt
C. Oliver Iselin
George “Fritz” Jewett, Jr.
Gary Jobson
Arthur Knapp Jr.
William I. Koch
Ben Lexcen
Sir Thomas J. Lipton
John Longley, AM
Harry “Buddy” Melges
E.D. Morgan
Henry Sturgis Morgan
Emil “Bus” Mosbacher, Jr.
Frank J. Murdoch
Charles E. Nicholson
Sir Frank Packer
General Charles J. Paine
Alan Payne
Thomas Ratsey
Victor A. Romagna
Morris Rosenfeld
Stanley Rosenfeld
Tom Schnackenberg
George L. Schuyler
Commodore Henry Sears
T.O.M. Sopwith
George Steers
John Cox Stevens
Olin J. Stephens II
Roderick Stephens Jr.
Jack Sutphen
Bruno Troublé
R.E. “Ted” Turner
Stephen A. Van Dyck
Harold S.Vanderbilt
Gertrude Vanderbilt
George L. Watson
Thomas A. Whidden
The Earl of Wilton
Simon Daubney (2010 inductee)
Mike Drummond (2010 inductee)
Warwick Fleury (2010 inductee)
Halsey C. Herreshoff (2010 inductee)
Murray Jones (2010 inductee)
Dean Phipps (2010 inductee)

CharterWorld has a range of perfomance sailing yachts for charter, please contact us for more information.

Please contact CharterWorld - the luxury yacht charter specialist - for more on superyacht news item "America's Cup Hall of Fame to induct 6 new nominees.".

Quick Enquiry

Share on FacebookShare on Twitter