Latest ISO Standard for Large Yachts

In 2006, the ‘Sub-Committee 12 for Large Yachts’ (TC 8/SC 12) was formed by the ...

Latest ISO Standard for Large Yachts

August 05, 2014

Written by Zuzana Bednarova

In 2006, the ‘Sub-Committee 12 for Large Yachts’ (TC 8/SC 12) was formed by the ISO Technical Committee, responsible for Ship and Marine Technology Standards (TC 8), in order to develop Standards specifically for yachts over 24 meters.

icomia logo

The International Council of Marine Industry Associations (ICOMIA) and sister association Superyacht Builders Association (SYBAss) are members of TC8/SC 12 and ensure only standards the industry wants are developed through consultation with their members.

The latest standard to be published is ISO 14885 – Large yachts – Diesel engines for main propulsion and essential auxiliaries – Safety requirements; a cumulative effort of the members of TC8/SC 12 Working Group 4 on ‘Systems’, which was published in July 2014. This international standard specifies the safety requirements for diesel engines:

1. Within a rated power of 100kW and over for propulsion and essential auxiliaries

2. For power generation for large yachts 24 m and over in hull length (measured in accordance with ISO 8666:2002)

3. Vessels must be less than 500 GT which are in commercial use for sport or pleasure, and do not carry cargo and do not carry more than twelve passengers.

– This standard does not cover engines used for generating the emergency source of electrical power –

“ISO Standards developed by TC 8/SC 12 are beneficial to superyacht construction,” explains Patrick Hemp, ICOMIA Technical Manager, “As they deal with areas not covered by class rules, or where class rules are not appropriate for superyachts.”

Please contact CharterWorld - the luxury yacht charter specialist - for more on superyacht news item "Latest ISO Standard for Large Yachts ".

Quick Enquiry

Share on FacebookShare on Twitter